top of page


The Planning Department is responsible for managing the physical growth of the unincorporated area of the county. The Brule County Comprehensive Development Plan is the official document to guide land use decisions. The comprehensive plan is designed to anticipate and deal constructively with changes occurring within the county.  

The Planning Department consists of two county commissioners and five county members appointed by the board to five-year terms.  
The Planning Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month if needed to consider any requests.  

Daily responsibilities of the Planning Department include enforcing the zoning regulations and issues of zoning and building permits.


Phone: 605-234-4432

Mike Hosek
2023 Chairman

Joel Pazour

Duane Overweg

Sharman Swanson (C)

Ted Petrak

Vice Chairman

Dick Kunzweiler


Gary Dozark (C)

Kim Kontz

Zoning Administrator


bottom of page